English Heritage Blue Plaques dinnerware collection

When I first started freelancing, my nearest and dearest bought me good-luck gifts, ranging from a notepad headed by expletives and cat-shaped paperclips. How well they know me. Him indoors took it one step further with a personalised present, reflecting my obsession with English Heritage’s Blue Plaques – a scheme that commemorates places where notable people have lived.

However, there’s a new way for me to get my plaque fix on a daily basis. Product Of Your Environment, a design studio, has partnered with English Heritage to create a series of products based on the iconic Blue Plaques, starting with a collection of bone china plates. Which I imagine is a bit like having a dinner party with celebrities.

Blue Plaques plates

Blue Plaques plates

Hand-decorated in the UK, each plate replicates the plaque of a famous Londoner, including Agatha Christie, Alfred Hitchcock, Sigmund Freud and suffragettes Emmeline and Christabel Pankhurst. As well as looking great on the table, they’re ideal for hanging on the wall for a quirky decorative touch.

Jimi Hendrix Blue Plaque plate

Jimi Hendrix Blue Plaque plate

Given that this year is the 150th anniversary of the scheme, it’s the perfect way to invite a little history into your home.

Kenneth Williams Blue Plaque plate

Kenneth Williams Blue Plaque plate

I’m struggling to pick a favourite, so will probably have to invest in the set of six. However, if you’ve made it this far down, here’s your reward… needless to say, it’s completely my other half’s work and nothing to do with English Heritage.

Rachel's plaque

You might also like:

