London: a design destination

While my main passion in life is all things interiors, homes and design, recently, I was lucky enough to be able to combine them with another love of mine – travel. I’d been asked by a Canadian magazine, Grand Luxury Travel, to write a piece on London as a design destination, and at first, that sounded simple enough. I’d lived in London for years, traversed its many areas, absorbing architecture, sculpture and ideas as I went – how hard could it be?

Of course, when I sat down to write it, I realised I needed a serious refresher course. It’s easy to take London and its multiple attractions for granted. What followed was a great journey around old haunts – The Design Museum (essential before it moves to its new home in the former Commonwealth Institute), the V&A, a wander down the King’s Road – and discovering new ones, such as the Design Centre at Chelsea Harbour and the history behind Clerkenwell.

Inside the DCCH with an aerial installation by landscape designer Jinny Blom

Inside the DCCH with an aerial installation by landscape designer Jinny Blom

It all felt even more apt knowing that the London Design Festival was just around the corner (14th-22nd September) and I’ve already started making a list of the things I want to see and do. This year’s motto is that Design is Everywhere and writing this article made me understand just how true that is. Certainly in London, design is everywhere, fanning out from the centre in a giant wave of sinuous curves, vibrant colour and seemingly endless creativity.

It was only natural that I ended up writing twice as much as I was meant to, trying to include everything I thought was worth seeing. I now know that tourists could spend weeks in the capital and still come away with only a snapshot of what the city has to offer in terms of design alone.

Regardless, it was a journey I’m glad I took and I’m delighted with the result. If you’d like to have a read, you can download it from Grand Luxury Travel‘s website or read the piece by itself. And if you’d like to tell me what I really should have included, please leave a comment below.

You might also like:

