Testing: AromaWorks candles and room scents

When I was asked to try out some room scents recently, I wasn’t quite sure what to do. How does one test a candle? My checklist didn’t get much further than does it burn well and does it smell nice? However, that was before a suitably gorgeous-smelling package arrived from AromaWorks.

AromaWorks products to test

AromaWorks products to test

Inside were three differently sized candles, a room spray and a reed diffuser. And I had something in mind for all of them. While I like to keep a clean house, with three cats and hygienically-challenged other half, nasty niffs can linger. And when guests come to stay, that can sometimes be more apparent.

In a rare example of domestic goddess-ry, I keep my guest room prepared for company at all times – not only does it come in handy if one of us is sick, it also means when family descend, it’s slightly less stressful to only have to blitz the rest of the house. So its door is always closed and stale air can be a problem. A reed diffuser is the ideal solution. I installed the Inspire-scented AromaWorks one immediately and only an hour later, was able to walk in to a room that smelled tantalisingly citrussy – fresh without being in the least overpowering.

AromaWorks Inspire reed diffuser

AromaWorks Inspire reed diffuser

Next, the bathroom. During the winter especially, when our extractor seems less than up the job, this room can often smell a little musty. And for obvious other reasons, a pleasant scent in there is a must. Air freshners make me sneeze, so the Nuture room spray was perfect. A couple of bursts and my bathroom felt more welcoming, scented with a blend of relaxing chamomile and sandalwood. And a few hours later, it still lingered.

AromaWorks Nuture room mist

AromaWorks Nuture room mist

Finally, the candles. I chose the Serenity one to start with and sited it in our bedroom – where the cats sleep during the day and we sleep at night, so it can be far from fragrant. While I find that many scented candles ‘lose’ their smell as you acclimatise, what I really liked about this one is that every time I moved around the room when it was lit, I caught a wave of aroma – sweet lemongrass that had me half in mind to nip downstairs and make a batch of lemon posset.

AromaWorks Serenity candle

AromaWorks Serenity candle

So now, onto the science bit. Why do they all smell exceedingly luscious? And why do those aromas love to linger? It’s all down to the high concentration of essential oils – unlike some scented products, AromaWorks max out on this. Oils aside, everything that goes into its candles is also sourced and made in Britain, so there’s no need to feel guilty about unnecessary air miles.

Finally – and here’s the best reason for loving these candles – there’s no black smoke because they’re made with soy and beeswax, not paraffin wax. Which is brilliant. Cleaning sticky black soot off a ceiling is not my favourite way to relax, whereas I think AromaWorks candles most definitely could be.

You might also like:

