The joy of a new dishwasher

A few weeks ago, my dishwasher broke. I was bereft. Despite living without a dishwasher for years, now I had one, I didn’t want to go back.

Weeks of washing up ensued. The leaning tower of crockery came to dominate my kitchen worktops. Meals began to be planned around how few pans they used.

When it came to choosing a replacement, I overlooked all the rules (measure your plates, check the energy rating, water usage etc) and picked on looks.

I opted for this slimline ADP 451 IX Whirlpool model in silver. A-rated for energy, with six programmes including an eco setting for lower water usage (normal is 13 litres, eco with 3-in-one tablets is just 9) but more importantly, it matched my fridge freezer. And fortunately, it wasn’t long in turning up.

Whirlpool's Slimline Silver Dishwasher ADP 451 IX

Whirlpool’s Slimline Silver Dishwasher ADP 451 IX

It’s small in size at only 44.5cm wide but it still manages to cram in an impressive nine place settings and has more room in the upper basket than my old model. One thing I especially love is how quiet it is – 52dB, which is less than the average conversation (60-65dB).

Needless to say, this is the new love of my life.

You might also like:

